The Government of India launched the Indian e- tourist visa scheme in 2014 to promote tourism, extending it to nationals of 76 eligible countries entering India via certain designated Indian airports (including Bengaluru, Chennai, Cochin, Delhi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai & Trivandrum) and seaports. The e- tourist visa allows eligible persons to apply for a visa online without consulting an Indian Consulate/Mission/VAC. Eligible foreign national must be visiting India for the purpose of recreation, sightseeing, casual business trips, or visiting friends or family, and/or short duration medical treatment only.

Applicants must have a passport that is valid for a minimum period of six months from the date of arrival in India. The valid passport should have a minimum of two blank pages for stamping by the Immigration Officer. The foreign traveler must possess either a return or onward journey ticket as well as sufficient money for the duration of the stay in India.

Applicants apply online 4 to 240 days before the planned date of arrival in India. The online application must include the scanned first page of passport and a digital photograph that meets the specific requirements.
The e-Tourist visa is valid for 90-180 days, depending on nationality, from the date of arrival in India and must be carried throughout the trip. Biometric details are captured by Immigration Officials on arrival in India and must match the data on the Indian e-Tourist visa. The e- tourist visa India allows multiple visits per the calendar year.

The e- tourist visa India is not available to international travelers with a Pakistani passport or of Pakistani origin, Diplomatic/Official passport holders, or individuals endorsed on spouse’s or parents’ passport without an individual personal passport. It is also not available to International Travel Document holders.